September Music Releases

By: Priscilla Porter

After what felt like forever, we’ve finally heard from Hozier. A new EP was released last Thursday, September 6th. It’s entitled Nina Cried Power, and has four songs: “Nina Cried Power,” “NFWMB,” “Moment’s Silence,” and Shrike. In my opinion, this album has more of an intense feel to it, compared to his previously published music. I hate to say it, but I think I prefer his old album over his EPs. If you are a big Hozier fan, he will be in Chicago on September 21st at the Riviera Theatre, so make sure to pick up tickets.

Another band we haven’t heard much from lately, Twenty One Pilots, just released some songs off of their newest album, Trench, which will be dropping October 5th. The four songs that have been released are: “Jumpsuit,” “Levitate,”  “My Blood,” and “Nico and the Niners.” After listening to these early releases, I can definitely tell that TOP is going for a different vibe on this album. I am excited to see the completed project in October. They also released their tour dates, which are already sold out, but if you get the chance to buy a ticket from someone, they are performing in Chicago on October 17 at the United Center, and in St Louis on October 19 at the Enterprise Center.

In addition to these alternative rock releases, there have also been recent releases in the hip-hop/rap genre. 6LACK just released his album entitled East Atlanta Love Letter, and YoungBoy Never Broke Again just released his album entitled 4Respect 4Freedom 4Loyalty 4What Important. All of the albums listed above are now available on both Spotify and Apple Music.

Leave a Reply